Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need help getting started with recording on a Macbook Pro

Robert Liberman

I'll cut to the chase. I'm a 54 year retired pro musician

getting back into it.

What I have

Digital keys: Yamaha Motif 8

Analog keys: Minimoog, Memorymoog (neither are MIDI)

Computer: Macbook Pro 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM

Analog mixer: Mackie CFX12 mixer

Speakers: Mackie SRM450 powered speakers

Assorted mics, cables, headphones

What I a need advice on:

1. Decent, but inexpensive, audio interface. Should I get Firewire or USB2?

2. Recording software - also not too expensive - maybe something basic but upgradeable.

What I want to do

I play jazz, classical and prog rock and compose my own music. I want to be able to record my own music - MIDI and analog.

I need some serious help getting started! Any recommendations are appreciated!

Thanks,

Robert

Yamaha Motif 8, Waldorf Q, E-mu E5000, Minimoog Model D (1972), Memorymoog

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Is there any reason you don't want to use GarageBand, which you already have?

For USB vs FireWire, it depends on how much you want to spend and how many tracks you plan to record simultaneously.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

I'd go ahead and just get a firewire interface. USB might be adequate, but firewire performs better overall, and there's really no major inherent difference in price between the two standards. Plus, for whatever reason there are still a ton of USB 1.0 interfaces out there on the market, so you might end up with a slower interface than you think if you're not careful.

I'd agree with Joe that you should maybe try out Garage Band to get yourself started before dropping $$ on software.