Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: I decided to quit music..

Tomkeen

Partially, that is..

To make a long story short, I've been playing in bands since age 15 (I'm 22 now). I've had some good experiences in my earlier years and always had a lot of fun playing with other people. The last 4 years though have been taking their toll on that fun. I've played with at least 15/20 different bands, and each and every one of them led me to nothing. Most of those bands were with people I've played with before, and most of them only lasted for a couple of weeks. One band was with a girl who became third on a national Idol/popstar-like program. We rehearsed once, mediahype started, they never called me again. Another band asked me to play with them around that time, but I declined since I already had three bands at that time.

After a month or 6 though, they called again to see if I was available. I was, and started playing with them. They played alternative/indie-rock covers, which I had never done before, but I liked it. After a couple of weeks or rehearsing, we decided to only play original material. I knew it would be a lot of work, but fast forward to now, a few months later, we only have one song that's finished, and some that still need a lot of work. After last nights horrible rehearsal I could only conclude that I don't have that same fun anymore in making music that I once had. I feel that I put a lot more energy, money and time into playing than I get back.

It has been such a frustrating experience that now I've decided to sell all my gear, except for the PC3x. I'm not going to play in any band anymore, at least for a while. I just want to play by myself now, and maybe focus some more on writing songs on my own instead of with a band.

Thanks for reading, really needed to vent..

(also posted this thread at KSS)

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply