Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OHM,s, Running Subs parrellel?

PRS MAN

I have no clue what the OHM's or running subs parrellel means, im confused about all this, I want a bass amp that cuts through the feed of a band and sounds nice. I use a Warwick Rock Bass 5 String Streamer, NO distortion or effects, just high bass, non mids, and medium treble to give a deeper "thud" sound, but when i review on musicians friend i see "OHMs" can someone explain the OHM to me in normal language, I am studying to be a guitar tech, so i know guitar terms but i havent learned amp stuff yet

_____DISCIPLE_ROCKS_____

PAUL REED SMITH GUITARS 4 EVER

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

An ohm is a unit of measurement. In the context you are referring to, it is a measure of impedance, the amount of difficulty a signal encounters going through a speaker.

Amplifiers are built to so that their output is intended to encounter a certain amount of impedance. It's like an auto engine is designed to encounter back pressure from a muffler. IF you remove that back pressure, the engine will run faster, but it will burn up. Amplifiers need that impedance to keep them from operating at too high a level and burning up.

When you run more than one speaker, they can be wired in series or parallel, or sometimes series/parallel. Now this is the part I sometimes get backwards, so guys, please correct me if I'm wrong. What I think I recall is that when you run 2 or more speakers of the same impedance in parallel, the impedance stays the same. So, two or more 8 ohm speakers running parallel still present an 8 ohm load to an amplifier.

However, if you run the same speakers in series, the impedance lowers. So if you run two 8 ohm speakers in series, they present a 4 ohm load to the amp.