Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I made the switch...Happy and sad.

bluzeyone

Hello everyone. I finally went with software! Not a big deal to some, but for me very much so. I scored sonar from a friend and really dig the plugins and options. Of course this world is new to me and every move I make triggers questions. My first one of many is I am using a controller with it and I noticed there is a delay(slight but to a player horrible) between the notes played and the notes heard. I think this is latency or something. Is there a setting in the software that can fix this? I know this is like a kindergarden level question to some of you but I am totally new to this. Any info will be helpful. Thanks for your time.
"A good mix is subjective to one's cilia." http://hitnmiss.yolasite.com

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes, it is latency. You have to tweak your buffer length settings in the audio driver control panel.

Smaller buffer == less latency.

Too small of a buffer == glitches.

So turn it down until you start glitching, then back off slightly.

And be sure to use a low latency driver too. ASIO is preferred, at least on a PC.

Moe

---

"I keep wanting to like it's sound, but every demo seems to demonstrate that it has the earth-shaking punch and peerless sonics of the Roland Gaia. " - Tusker

http://www.hotrodmotm.com

pc. Any recommends for the ASIO without breaking bank?

Asio4all (I believe the website for it is asio4all.com, but if not, just google it)

It is the de facto standard when it comes to universal asio drivers... and it's free!

By the way, you may be able to get better, more thorough help if you give some details on your setup. i.e. what keyboard controller your using, what are some of the specs of your PC, what audio interface or soundcard you're using, etc.

--Sean H.

Yamaha MOXF8, Korg TR76, Novation X-Station 61, Casio PX-320

If you haven't already done so, research your sound card and be