Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Peavey Windsor Studio Amp ***UPDATE****

LeftyBlues

Cool amp but not nearly enough low end for ol' Lefty, and yes the Bass pot is maxed, mid and treble around 50%. Saw a few comments on the web where folks replaced the stock speaker with a Celestion Greenback to bump the bass and tone down the brightness some. Any comments or suggestions? The 12" GB is $125 so I figure it's worth asking you pro's, I trust youse guys. Thanks for any input.

L.B.

I was born at night but I wasn't born last night...

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

"Where's the beef?"

I'm no Pro, but I can tell you, you'll find more of the low-end you want with a Celestion G12H 30, "Heritage" or "Anniversary".

Other excellent speakers at various price-points starting with the Celestion G12H 30 template:

HELLATONE 30 (Scroll down or do CTRL F "HELLATONE 30")

Weber Ceramic 1230

Weber AlNiCo 1230 (A hybrid- think AlNiCo version of Celestion G12H30 with an added ceramic "booster" magnet to add and tighten-up bottom end- super cool! :cool: Killer for low watt tube-amps pushed hard for leads and backed-off on for mean or clean...)

Warehouse Guitar Speakers 12" Reaper

Warehouse Guitar Speakers 12" Reaper 55hz

Scumback H55

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

You rock Cae....er Dances. Just the name "Hellatone" fits the season ya know? See, I'm glad I asked because I really don't want to get stuck with a $125 speaker that sounds like the one Peavey uses. Probably can't go wrong with a Celestion is my guess. Thanks DWW.

My Fuchs Lucky 7 head- also a true single-ended Class-A design with one EL34 and two 12AX7's- needed (by my ear) a speaker with a lotta beef, so I had similarly already ben dere, dun dat.