Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Way OT: Were you cool in school?

Skinny

I was just listening to "Wake Up Time" by Tom Petty. There is a line in the song that says, "You were so cool back in high school, what happened?".

I was kind of a nerd, but got along well with everyone most of the time. I guess that still holds true today.

The "cool" kids played sports and talked about sports and went to parties. I didn't. Monday mornings often consisted of the kids talking about how drunk they got on Saturday night. I saved my drinkin' for college, baby!

And of course, being in concert band and choir wasn't cool! I was "forced" to be in band and choir from 5th grade until I graduated high school. I hated it then; now I wish I'd have tried harder. Same goes for piano lessons...

What about you? Were you cool? Popular?

Stuff and things.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It was the 70's I was too stoned to remember :(

I woke up one day at 20 yrs, and decided my "friends" were part of the problem. I left Michigan and joined the Air Force. I consider that when my life actually began.

Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12

Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell

I vaulted from "not cool" to "way cool" as soon as I formed my first rock band my junior year in high school. We started playing school functions and local dances almost immediately.

That experience made me who I am today - for better or worse.