Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie Electric Questions

it99

I am a newbie and have a few questions. I want to get an electric quitar and mostly(at least at first) experiment making some real cool loud noises like Smashing Pumpkins,Rage Against/grungy,punkish awesome noises. Here are my questions:

1) For effects, I thought I heard someone say something like there is a peice of hardware where you can download the guitar sounds for a particular band(U2 or Pumkins,etc) or select it somehow. Is this true, where is it. Other suggestions for loud effects.

2)I really don't want to have to buy an amp and would much rather buy some kind of converter to plug into my stereo. Could you point me to something I can plug into my old RCA input stereo.

Thanks

Thanks

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome it99 - couple of ideas. It's hard to go wrong w/a Big Muff fuzz, for Pumpkins sounds. The Nano Muff is small, affordable and LOUD! For RATM sounds, you're going to want a Whammy pedal, or something a lot like it. The Whammy isn't cheap, around $200, but it's an essential part of Tom Morello's sound.

There are a bunch of guitar software packages that let you emulate classic sounds, but you're playing through a computer, for the most part. There are also a number of Multi-Effects Pedalboards that have sounds from famous bands or songs. Boss, Digitech, Korg, Vox & Zoom all make FX units you should check into.

As far as running you guitar into your stereo, eh, it's not a great idea, for a lot of reasons, even though nearly everyone has tried it at some point. There are some recording engineers who post regularly, and they might have some suggestions, but I expect a lot of them would say "Don't!" Any particular reason why you don't want an amp?

"Monsters are real, and Ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win." Stephen King

http://www.novparolo.com

https://thewinstonpsmithproject.bandcamp.com