Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Macbook Setup

b3keys

Hi everyone,

I am just getting into the wonderful world of softsynths and have a setup question.

I have the following:

Macbook (not Macbook Pro)

Software:

Logic

Waldorf Edition

Waldorf Largo

Scarbee VKC

GForce Virtual String

NI Komplete 5

Arturia JP-8

I hope to add the Korg Legacy (Analog and Digital) editions, Omnisphere, Stylus RMX and a few others over time.

I am obviously going to run out of hard drive space very quickly with these soft synths. Without getting into purchasing something like a Muse Receptor, how would you suggest that I set up these soft synths? What would be the best configuration? An External Hard Drive? Recommendations?

Thank you for your help!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Are you talking about gigging live with that rig? I'd be scared to run more than a couple of those on my macbook in a live situation. But if you're just talking about being in the studio, I'd run any of the sample based soft synths off an external drive - - NI Komplete 5 For instance. It saves internal hard drive space and it's better for it.

Kawai C-60 Grand Piano : Hammond A-100 : Hammond SK2 : Yamaha CP4 : Yamaha Montage 7 : Moog Sub 37

My latest album: Funky organ, huge horn section

https://bobbycressey.bandcamp.com/album/cali-native

I am also running a lot of that on a 2.5 year old Macbook. I have Logic 9, NI Komplete 5 and some Arturia stuff. I have the Komplete 5 samples for Elektrik piano and Knotakt and Battery running off a 500 GB external. Logic 9 is all on the computer itself. That way when I'm away from the HD on the go, I can still work on stuff and have a sample set with which to work.

Kawai C-60 Grand Piano : Hammond A-100 : Hammond SK2 : Yamaha CP4 : Yamaha Montage 7 : Moog Sub 37