Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Open (love) letter to Propellerheads

zeronyne

Dear Swedish Alchemists at Propellerheads,

I need to warn you up front that this is a love letter with an ulterior motive. I am hoping that with my dulcet tones and soft delivery, you will accede to my request. I say this not to intimidate, but to disclose fully my intentions.

I have been a Reason owner since 2.0, and I have been a rabid fanboy since 2.5. The milestones of my musical life have been paralleled by your development schedule. I started really using my gargantuan Akai library when you released Reload, which made conversion a snap. I started playing out after a decade long hiatus with the advent of the Combinator. I have used Reason to teach a college course, and I'm working on a project right now that will put it into the hands of some of the poorest Native American children in the nation.

I own and use many other DAWs and softsynths, so I am not blind to Reason's limitations. But it's the singular focus of your architect and the consistency of your user interface that I really admire and buy into.

And then Record went into public beta. I have to tell you that I was skeptical. You guys had stated time and time again that audio was beyond the scope of Reason, and I totally understood the consequences of scope creep. Releasing an adjunct product - one that seemed like a money grab, especially when ReWire worked almost flawlessly - seemed dubious at best.

But I'm totally bought in at this point. It works great, it has a very light footprint, and it does 75% of what the big DAWs do, which is about 99% of what I need.

The concept is sound, the two programs work together flawlessly, and the workflow is incredibly efficient. For people like me who need to put out short pieces with wildly varying styles in tight deadlines, it's really great.

But...

Well..

Hmm...