Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

First Digital Piano Purchase Recommendation

turnyourhead

So, I'm looking to purchase my first digital piano... and need a recommendation.

Some info to help the recommendation:

- I'm a classically trained pianist (13 years). I haven't played in a while, and want to start playing again.

- I'm looking for a full weighted 88-key piano, without a built in stand/legs/pedals; and that i can also put it away in the closet when I'm done.

- I used to have a Korg X3 but am no longer interested in laying down tracks and sequencing.

- I don't need a lot of built in samples and effects, just nice piano sound.

- I'd like it to have the option of connect to my PC, connect external foot pedals, and go out to an amp or sound system on occasion.

There are quite a few options, between Korg, Kurzweil, Roland, and Yahama, that I'm not sure where in the range of low-end to high-end I need to be. And once I narrow my choices down, I'll of course go play them to see how they feel to me.

I don't want something cheap; I want something nice, but not more than I need. I was assuming something in the $1,400 to $1,800 range. Yamaha P155? Roland FP4?

I sort of need a filter to narrow me down to a price/feature range, and end up with a few models to explore.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello & welcome to the forum.

Your best bet is to check out Sweetwater Sound.

Pick a few keyboards that are in your price range and have the features you want.

Come back here and ask us specifically about those that you have chosen.

Makes it easier on all of us to help answer your question.

Good luck.

Tom

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

Welcome to the forum!

I think you need to think about your budget before thinking about what options there are, not the other way around, but that's just me.