Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Questions from a pianist

Axe L

Hello partners in crime :)

This is my 1st post here, I believe. I'm a composer and pianist and I've recently been teaching myself to play the bass, partly for fun, but mostly to enliven, elevate and authenticate my synth bass tracks ;)

Just so you know, I've bought several bass learning books/DVDs and they're fine for a beginner, but as a life-long musician, I wanted to get the lowdown more efficiently.

I searched the Bass Player forum for Beginner tips, and found a couple of interesting posts. I browsed and read several more; the warm and friendly tone in those posts encouraged me to ask you guys and gals the following general questions:

1. What kind of warm-up exercises should I be doing (left-hand, right-hand)?

2. Should I play scales to build strength first, or just gently play along some simple bass lines until I know my way around the neck (and the strings)? I ask this because I'm afraid of picking up bad habits if I stick with the latter (as I've been doing these past few weeks). Basically, what's a recommended practice routine for a beginner?

3. I notice bassists say "pluck" here; what is the recommended finger movement? Upward (plucking upward from slightly underneath the string) or perpendicular? Should my plucking fingers be kept straight or naturally (relaxed) curved?

4. I have pianist hands and fingers; my fingers arch naturally over the fret board. All the bassists I see (in clubs, or on DVD) seem to have very long and straight fingers. They also seem to play effortlessly! My question then is: am I losing strength by arching my fingers (in my left and right hands alike)?

5. I don't recall seeing anyone using their LH pinky on the fretboard. Why not? Should I stop trying to use mine?

6. Should I position my finger immediately above (or on) the fret of the note, or further up, smack in the middle (between the two frets)?