Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MIDI controlling Marshall JMP-1, VG-99 & Fantom-XR via FC-30

me1034

Folks, I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to MIDI. I'm interested in buying a Roland VG-99 and a Fantom-XR. I currently run my guitar through a Mesa Boogie 50/50 and Marshall JMP-1 pre-amp. I'm not interested in using the VG-99 for my base guitar tone. I really just want to start using it as a guitar synth with some really good patches not found in the VG-99 - thus the Fantom XR. So my questions:

1. How would I best chain the JMP-1, VG-99 and Fantom-XR? I'll be using the VG-99 as just effects tones for regular guitar (thus the JMP-1) so I'll need any program changes to change the VG-99 and JMP-1

2. Then, for synth sounds coming from the Fantom-XR, which device would control that? Can one foot controller controll all three units?

3. I'm thinking of getting a FC-300 so I can use the cat5 connection from the FC-300 to the VG-99. But can I run the JMP-1 and Fantom-XR from the VG-99? (So the FC-300 would control all three?)

4. Finally, if I use the cat5 connection between the FC-300 and the VG-99, doe the guitar tuner function desplay on the FC-300 display?

I know... lot's of questions. but i could definitely use some help to see if I want to invest in $2K worth of gear.

Thanks!

Chris

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been using a MIDI guitar rig since they were available, though I would never use it live, just my own point of view.