Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

GAS - Electronic Fantasy?

Threadslayer

Anybody have a pet electronic music device they've always wanted that just doesn't exist? The reason I ask is that the company I've worked for for the past 2 years is closing it's doors in April and I am considering setting up shop as an independent product developer again. I am an electronic designer/software developer who has been in project management for the last few years and am looking for some small projects to get my head back in the game. For example, one that I've always wanted is a MIDI pitch bender that will allow you to bend individual notes within a chord while other notes remain static. Why? So I can play pedal steel licks via foot or finger "pedals". I've messed around with conventional keyboard pitch wheels and gotten a reasonable facsimile, but it is pretty awkward and counter-intuitive. Anyway, I'm probably going to start with that one just for fun. Anyone else have any pet devices they've always wanted but can't find?

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

-Mark Twain

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Could be I guess. I wasn't really asking for commercially viable ideas here... I just upgraded my PCB CAD system and bought a bunch of used test equipment and I find that I learn new systems better when I have a focused objective rather than watching a bunch of video tutorials and such. I was more thinking of a scenario where someone had a need and I would develop it for shits 'n grins and give it to them when I was done.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

-Mark Twain