Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard for a beginner

Wilna

Hi, I'm interested in getting a keyboard as a Christmas present. I plan on teaching myself how to play as I have no experience and it will purely be something to do as a hobby - I've no idea what I shold be looking for in a keyboard so will some research but have often found that forums offer the best advice hence posting here. I have a couple of young kids so it'd be nice for them to be able to use it in the future. My plan is to be able to play a few songs on it once I've learned the basics and done some practice, so nothing too advanced. My budget isn't huge - probably £150 or so (c.$250). If anyone can give me some pointers that would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wilna, welcome to the forum. We're not rude but you must understand that this question gets asked with some frequency.

You're probably not going to find anything new at that price that anyone here would recommend. I suggest going to your local music store (not a department store) and browse.

Have you thought of renting an acoustic through your dealer?

This isn't much help but you've not given us much money to work with.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

ok, appreciate the response. I tried to search for 'keyboard beginner' but got a whole load of listings for a Facebook page which wasn't much help!

I've done a bit of research into it and have found a couple of Yamaha models - PSR E213 and EZ200 - which look decent, so I will probably pop into a music shop and see what they have to say. If anyone has any thoughts on these or anything similar that would be great although I appreciate this is very much the bottom of the market and probably not what you normally discuss.