Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I Prefer the Company of the Rhythm Section

The Bear Jew

In my present main music gig, I rarely (never) play bass at all, unless I'm messing around at home or trying to explain something to the bassist in my band using a visual aid. I mainly spend my musical time playing guitar, working on song arrangements, writing lyrics or singing (read: hollering like a banshee.) So I am primarily a guitarist/songwriter/vocalist these days. However, I can't stand hanging out with other singers/guitarists.

Yep, I prefer the company of bassists and drummers over guitarists and vocalists--I have discovered that I have nothing to say to them. It's not that I don't like them intrinsically--I just don't seem to have much in common artistically with other guitarists or vocalists.

It seems like the old light bulb joke about guitarists (It takes one to change the bulb and 10 to say they could have done it better) is true... and I just don't have patience for the nonsense. I don't care about being faster or niftier than anyone else, and I really don't want to discuss the relative merits of EL-34 tubes versus KT-88s. I mean, yeah, OK, I DO appreciate seeing/hearing a nice instrument, amp or effect, but most of the other guitarists I meet have this adversarial attitude that I just despise. OOOooooooh... you can get a sound just like Dimebag's... GOOOOOOD for youuuuuuu. Oooooh, you have the Wowwee Super-Cool Neato pedal.... you're obviously better than everyone in the room. For some reason, they never wanna talk about writing interesting songs or fun stuff. Nope. They tend to want to compare penis sizes... erm, I mean guitar technique rather than what it takes to make art. Sure, there are a few nice folks out there, and I'm always glad when I get a chance to do gigs with those guys... but more often than not, they're a-holes.