Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need help making a decision

djminus1

Hi,

I am about to buy my first keyboard but after countless hours of research, I still can't decide what's best for me.

I am new to playing the keyboard, but not at all new to music. I was a DJ for 6 years and am involved in music production for electronic music. I recently put the production on hold to finally learn to play a keyboard and piano properly. I am really enjoying it.

I have about $1000 to spend, and I am looking for a keyboard/synth to practice on that has quality grand piano sounds, as well as a bunch of electric pianos like wurlies, rhodes, CP-80, etc. I'd like this keyboard to have a lot of good acoustic instrument sounds as well. I don't really need workstation capabilities as I have plenty of software on my DAW, but I won't turn one down if it's a good deal. It would be nice for this keyboard to have drum patterns for practicing and performing.

I looked at Kurzweil and fell in love with the piano/ep sounds on the PC3X, but that thing is $3000 and way out of my budget. I think I can pick up a PC1x for under $1000 used. I couldn't find much on the sounds of that model, but I think I have to buy a ROM to get all of the good ep's.

The Yamaha MM8 is under $1000 new but I didn't care for it's piano sounds.

Here is wish list of features:

- Max $1200. Under $1000 is better

- 88 Weighted keys (as close to piano feel as possible)

- Quality piano sounds

- Quality electric piano sounds

- Built in drum patterns for performance is a plus

- Can double as a nice MIDI controller

Here are some that I looked at:

Yamaha MM8 (New)

Kurzweil PC1X (Used)

Yamaha S90 (Used)

Yamaha MO8 (Used)

I'd love to hear some suggestions from the pro's. Anything on the list above look good? Am I missing a good one?

Thanks!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply