Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Playing with signed artist vs engineering job? Help.

bloodsample

I've asked many people for advise about this but I need an opinion from someone's who's has to make a similar decision.

Basically this band I'm in just got signed with a pretty known indie label up here in Montreal, Canada. I studied computer engineering and am working at a full time pretty well paid job.

I'm having a huge life dilemma as I don't know whether I should gamble my steady job and do the musician's life.

This band is not really a "band", it's a solo artist who writes everything but has a backing band, so I have little creative input.

I'm just wondering if anyone's had to make this decision before. Realistically can you live off being a recording/touring musician without a day job?

The job I'm at now will not let me take a few months off to go on a tour, so I have to pick one or the other.

I do have a passion for music but this particular project is not my own and I'm trying to be realistic about life (having a steady income for a possible family in the future, etc).

I'm not a gambling man so it's hard for me to take the leap and sacrifice income and experience. I don't want to end up like Anvil :S.

Any words of wisdom will be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you're young, you aren't married, and haven't started a family yet - I'd say take the music gig.

You can sit at a desk later when you're old and not as pretty and need to make money to support a family.

But you can't do it the other way around.

Life is long. There's plenty of time for both careers, but if you're going to do music it has to be now.

One thing you don't provide is your age, which is a relevant consideration. Another question - how satisfying is your current FT gig and employer?

Supporting yourself in the music business is not impossible. Eventually supporting a family in music is also not unheard of.