Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Who wants to open up a MALL RECORDING STUDIO with me?

I found myself wading through the plastic doll shopping mall today for my yearly re-up of timely fashions and I happened upon a recording studio right in the middle of the mall. As a home recording hobbyist I was curious as to what kind of rig they were running, so I kindly asked the attendant if I could look around in the recording area. They had a few isolation booths, a couple of sm-57's, a Motif and a Roland V-studio workstation/mixer. That's it. No computer, no effects (except the ones that come with the Roland), but they did have a scary manequin whose eyes followed me around the room - Great Vibe. There were 2 distinct groups of disallusioned clients awaiting service. One kid in group "A" was wearing a dog collar. Group "B" was argueing amongst themselves over the asthetic quality of a certain "boo's" booty. They reaked of body odor and marijuana. The time is now 11:20 AM. Are you ready for the kicker? They charge $15/hr to use their facilities. And while The Beatles could walk through the door and track gold with their setup, there was not a Beatle amongst them (maybe a little Ringo in the dog collar kid, but not worth mentioning). My plan is to undercut them, but I'll need some capital. I'm going to overclock my 800mhz Celeron, load up Protools Free and offer 2 channel recording/8 channel mixing through my Soundblaster 16 A/D. Strap the whole rig on the back of a rickshaw, hire illegal immigrants to mix and master, and park the rickshaw out in front of the food court. Who's in?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply