Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

39 years go today

Bluesape

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Fortunately Jimi lives on in so many ways. :D

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_V18AlRMa3Lo/RlGeQTwFryI/AAAAAAAAA3U/P_delb9-eIk/s320/hendrix-jimi_live-at-woodstock-front.jpg

Let's organize a birthday shindig Caevan. :)

Just a pinch between the geek and chum

I was a High School student, working in a Music Store on that day in 1970, several older people thought that it was "cute" that I was mourning that day...it still hurts.

Rock On Jimi...Still Raining...Still Dreaming!

"Got my own world to live in...and I'm not gonna copy you" Jimi Hendrix

I'm with ya. But I prefer to remember his Birthday (November 27th, 1942).

I am just a few weeks older than he would have been had he lived. I may not have gotten famous (which I am eternally grateful for, since fame and fortune lead nowhere), but I outlived the dude by a long shot. I am still to this day amazed at how good he was as far as his compositional ability is concerned. I still listen to his music regularly.

I was a High School student, working in a Music Store on that day in 1970, several older people thought that it was "cute" that I was mourning that day...it still hurts.

I was a senior in high school in 1970, and though Jimi dying was a bit of a shock, especially with he, Janis Joplin & Brian Jones dying so close together, I can't say I was emotionally set back by it. I had so much else going on, and it seemed somehow wrong to me to appropriate grief for someone I didn't know personally. I felt kinda the same way when John Lennon died, although I think his death hit a me a little harder because it was like losing a part of my childhood.

Always remember that you are unique. Just like everyone else.