Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

String problems

biguglyman

I have a Carvin LB75 bass I bought new about 15 years ago. It's a great bass and has served me well. I've been using Carvin strings on it since I bought it because I like the feel and sound and you can get them relatively cheap. Over the years they've changed their string design (taper wound ends, etc.) and I've adjusted my bridge accordingly with no problems. Lately (the last few months) I've had a terrible problem with the B-string on the new sets from Carvin. Every time I try to put tension on a new B-string, the core snaps at the post on the machine. I called them to gripe and they sent me new ones that do the same thing. I've been playing bass for over 35 years and have never had this happen before. I like these Carvin strings because they are taper wound at the bridge end of the B and I think it makes for a tighter B-string sound. Now I don't know what to do. I hesitate to buy more Carvin strings but I don't know where to find a set that's identical from another manufacturer. The sets I like are the Carvin #5011 medium light gauge nickel plated round rounds. The string sizes are:040-060-080-100-128. Any helpful ideas would be appreciated.

"There's not enough bass in the mix unless the first three rows are having involuntary bowel movements."

http://www.myspace.com/biguglyman_bass

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I thought the resold LaBella's under their name, I'm most likely wrong though. I doubt they are making their own strings.

Time to start searching for a new brand. The gauge is standard, taper wounds are abundant, and materials are easy to match. I doubt you'll have to try more than 2 sets to get something you like.

If you think my playing is bad, you should hear me sing!

The string sizes are:040-060-080-100-128.

That's a helluva jump in gauge and tension between E and B strings. It's basically a light tension 4 set and a heavy 5th string.