Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Cultivating A Unique Sound

Leeland

Hello there everyone my name is Leeland, I'm new here, I just got done reading the section on Steve Vai out of the new guitar player magazine this month asking to comment on your personal techniques for developing a unique sound. I have been playing guitar for about six years now and Ive played and play in a number of bands, and I've found that this topic is one that is most close to everything Ive done so far.

p.s. if you just want to skip to what will actually help you go to the list at the bottom of this post instead of reading through my horrendous rant of a forum submission.

The first step to achieving your own sound and personality on your instrument is to well, do it yourself. In the long run that's eventually what it all boils down to.

Most guitar players start off by learning a song or an exercise that was written by another guitar player or musician, through the help of these things and maybe a teacher you slowly begin to learn all the necessary techniques to play the guitar. However keep in mind that just being able to "play" really well, does not necessarily mean that you can "create" something innovative or original piece of work, here in lies the dilemma some guitarists find themselves in.

The absolute best thing that a guitarist can do to become a "musician" is to while learning new songs and exercises to constantly write your own material and apply everything new that you have learned in some way. This is where many people feel daunted or un-confident that they will ever be able to write anything good, Steve Vai had it right in this months issue when he said "You don't have to be great to do it, you just have to believe that you can and start doing it" (Oct. 09 Vai pg.64)