Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Soloing

Skinny

I've been playing in a cover band for about 3 years now, and I think I've improved a bit since '06 (actually I started playing in a group setting in church in 2003, but... it's church)

One thing I've never been is a great soloist. In my band now my main role is essentially rhythm (since we only have 1 guitarist) and bass (I play LH bass for most of the setlist). When it comes time for a keyboard solo, I can always pull it off, but, IMO, my solos are less than stellar.

Those of you who are seasoned players - is soloing something that you get better and better at, or were you always naturally good? Did you watch any of those instructional videos, or just get better by playing all the time?

Stuff and things.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Those of you who are seasoned players - is soloing something that you get better and better at, or were you always naturally good? Did you watch any of those instructional videos, or just get better by playing all the time?