Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

In a band? Where do you stand?

Gopherbassist

As my name implies, I'm a bassist. On the forums that I regular, other bassists talk about how guitarists treat them like second class citizens. They say that bass is easier, complain about their volume, and gripe when low enders used pedals. It's a pretty common complaint that bassists seem to have that guitarists just don't value them, and someone in a band with one that does is the envy of most others.

Another common complaint is about keyboard players. Most bassists say they won't stand for a keyboard player "with their left hand too low." Apparently, is a capital crime for a keyboard player to "get in [their] way." The general idea, they say, is that too much going on within the frequencies that bass uses will muddy the sound.

So, one person was venting about their keyboard player. They said the guy wouldn't work with the rest of the band, couldn't play very well, and even had the gaul to as a group that had hired the band to re schedule an event, because he was going on a trip. But aside from all this, he complained that they guy was always in his register.

He said he'd expressed many times that he didn't want him to play those frequencies. Now, as a band member, this guy should have respected that the bassist didn't want him to play what he was. His refusal to consider what others wanted paints him as a jerk. But I began to wonder why no one ever wants to let the keys play "low."

So, they key guy quit. The bassist said that his lack of skill made the band sound a lot worse, and his attitude wouldn't be missed. I said I was glad for him that his band sounded better.