Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Any drummers turned bass players?

JTH213

Hey all,

New to the forum and to the bass (fish?) in general. I've been playing drums for what seems like my whole life...started at 9 and I'm 40 now. I started playing around with guitars about a decade ago, but never really "got it", just too many notes to deal with! Recently I developed an interest in bass guitar, as it seems to draw on my rhythmic abilities and my interest in guitar. Anybody else pick up bass after playing drums for years? How old were you when you got started?

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Welcome to the forums. I started on drums when I was 11 in school band and played up until I was 18. That's when I switched over to bass. While I was never a great drummer; in fact, I wasn't very good at all; the time I spent on drums did give me a sense of rhythm and, I feel, a better understanding of the bass/drums connection in a rhythm section.

The groove is in the spaces.

Ha! It seems that all my favorite bass players started off as drummers. BP magazine used to have a little time-line of what the featured artist was doing year by year. A majority of them started on drums, or had some drumming in their pedigree.

Me? not so much on drums....

Welcome

Paul K

Things are just the way they are, and they're only going to get worse.

I wanted to play drums as a kid but I shared a room with my brother in our apartment so there was no room for drums. So I ended up playing bass. But now I have a small drum kit and I am hooked. Bass is definitely my voice but I plan on hopefully gigging as a drummer at some point in my life as well.

I'm teacgng a great drummer bass. The rhythmic side is particularly not a problem for him. We are focusring on note length a lot + the way that creates groove in interaction with the kit. That's me thing non-bassists sometimes aren't so aware of in their understanding of bass - the shape of a note.