Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

DAW Controllers and Keyboards

Geoff Grace

Do you use a DAW controller? If so, which one(s)? Are you happy with it? Who would you recommend it to?

I currently have a CM Labs Motor Mix, which is okay; but I really like the form factor of the Euphonix Artist Series controllers. I think it would be great to just set them on top of a flat top keyboard -- like the Yamaha CP300 -- to create a nice, streamlined composing/mixing station. Since I'm primarily a Pro Tools user, the downside is that I'd have to use the Artist Series in HUI emulation mode, and the 4-fader MC Control isn't optimally designed for banking under the HUI protocol, which I understand is 8-fader only. The upside is that the Artist Series would work even better with my Logic Pro and Digital Performer software.

Alternately, I could wait and see if M-Audio comes out with an 88-note Axiom Pro. But if they did, I'm guessing it wouldn't have motorized faders like the Artist Series. And while the Axiom Pro is better optimized for Pro Tools than the Artist Series, it might not work so well with Logic or Digital Performer.

Ah, trade offs...

Best,

Geoff

My Blue Someday appears on Apple Music | Spotify | YouTube | Amazon

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Geoff, I use the AlphaTrack and love it. It works with Logic, Live and Pro Tools natively. The only downside (for you, if I understand your needs) is that there's only one motorized fader. Switching channel strips is fast and easy enough that 9 times out of 10 it's all I need. I originally bought it to control Logic from my keyboard but it's become my main control method. It's miles better than mixing with a mouse, however if you need multiple simultaneous faders it's not for you. That said, I highly recommend it.