Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

False advertising?

Bruiser

I've been playing 4-string basses for several years, and have decided that a 5-string would sound good on some of the songs my band does. Our singer likes the key of D, but I don't like playing up in the guitarist's range, and I don't like detuning.

I couldn't find exactly what I wanted in the local stores, so I decided to buy on-line.

So this past Monday, 1/6/09, I placed an order with an on-line store (which shall remain nameless for now) for an Ibanez 5-string bass. Their web page said "Available 1/7/2009." I thought Great, the order will be shipped tomorrow.

Tuesday came and went and I hadn't seen a shipping notice yet, so I checked their web site. Now it's Wednesday, the 8th, and the web site says "Available 1/8/2009."

But that evening, I got an E-mail saying the bass was backordered, and was expected 1/21/2009.

Every day this week, they have changed the "available" date on the web site. Today it says "Available 1/10/2009."

To me (and the dictionary), "available" means on-hand, ready to use. It does not mean "Give us your order, and we might have what you want, or it might be a while."

Am I just being too anxious, or am I right in feeling that I've been lied to?

I've bought items from this company before, and have always been satisfied. Now, I wonder if I should cancel and order from another company that has the item in stock. At least, they claim they do. . . maybe they just mean it's "available."

Ed

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
That does seem dishonest if they're posting it as fact, not speculation. (I.e. it doesn't say "Weeell... maybe it'll be available tomorrow"). I have no idea if this is common practice or not. If you get too frustrated (i.e. if by the 21st they keep pushing back and you can't take it) you should try eBay, unless you feel like you have to have a warranty.