Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

open tunings and neck stress

Chunk

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How far "off" from normal are you talking about?

Also...are you tuning some strings down or up to achieve the open tunings?

A guitar with a stable neck/truss will easily handle a small change. If you plan on leaving it in that open tuning indefinitely...you then might want to readjust your truss rod, action and intonation...otherwise, no need to, for a song or two and then back again to normal tuning.

Plus...listen to the guitar. If you go loose to an open tuning, and the guitar is buzzing like madthen obviously its having a big enough effect on the neck.

You can either adjust the rod/action/intonation to equalize thingsor, try a different tuningor try it on a different guitar.

miroslav - miroslavmusic.com

"Just because it happened to you, it doesn't mean it's important."

I've been doing it since the 1960s with typical and less typical (like Joni Mitchells custom tunings) and not had any problems with any of the many guitars that I have owned.

I do recommend that 12 string owners tune down a hole step.

Bill

"I believe that entertainment can aspire to be art, and can become art, but if you set out to make art you're an idiot."

Steve Martin

Show business: we're all here because we're not all there.

Open-E tuning will be no problem at all for your guitar's neck; all you might have to do would be to adjust the truss-rod to compensate for the greater pull of the tighter strings, and only by a little, probably just tightening the truss-rod nut by about an eighth of a turn, or maybe a quarter (varies from one guitar to another).

Although, if this is for slide playing, a little added relief might be a good thing, in which case you might just leave it alone...