Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Got my final Uni performance next week, any words of advice?

Kayvon

So i've been playing for about 5 years now (i'm 26) and 2 & 1/2 years ago I started a Popular Music degree which next week is culminating in my final performance and to put it bluntly i'm kegging it.

I've never put on a gig where my playing is the focus & I don't know how it's gonna go but I thought i'd post here to get any last words of advice/do's don'ts as you guys have been a big help in alot of keyboard related ways over the past 4 years.

The performance is taking place in a cool pub in Kidderminster (The Taphouse) next Wednesday (come along if you're local :) ) and i'm doing it in a trio format with a vocalist and the odd solo guest player. The set list looks like this;

Milestones (new) trio format possibly with a sax player i've never met before(!)

Truly by Peshay. Vocal drum'n'bass seguing into

Candles by Alex Reece which is also D'n'B.

Changing of the Guard by Style Council.

Sunny by Bobby Hebb. The arrangement of this one is a little pedestrian, struggling to elaborate on the AAA(1) format a little.

West Coast Blues by Wes Montgomery. Doing this in a funky 4/4 hip-hop feel with a great guitarist.

Dolphin Dance by Herbie Hancock. Doing this solo, i'll nervous about this one, hope I can hold my nerve.

Strangers by Portishead. This one isn't sounding so great at the moment, it's a bit of a dirge but the vocal performance is good.

Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing by Stevie Wonder. Haven't practiced this one with the band yet, hopefully I can get this sounding good without stepping on the bassist's toes.

I've got four practices left so hopefully things will come together but I think i'm gonna be pretty nervous speaking to the crowd. I've asked some of my mates to heckle me to disarm my nerves a bit! :crazy:

Wish me luck and thanks for all the tips over the years. :thu:

Peter.

• Replies 20
  • Created