Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

looking for the best piano / synth comb.....?

sachimay

I am an active jazz/funk/jam pianist...I am looking for the best piano sound I can get while also looking for some nice synth leads and pads.

I am currently using a Yamaha P200 and Nord Electro 61. I love the piano on the yamaha but would really love some synth sounds. I just tried out the Yamaha S90ES and liked the sounds but found it to be just a bit too much for regular gigs. I also tried the Yamaha S08, this was nice as well. I am just wondering if anyone can suggest some others I should try before deciding.....thanks

www.dandechellis.com

"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." A. Einstein

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Take a good look at the Kurzweil PC1SE (76 note weighted), along with other Kurzweil product variants (88 note variants available). I'm in a very similar position and I reckon this KB, along with an Electro, is a pretty good combo. I'm having a look at one in the next few days - I'm no expert - but a little research has led me this way.

I just tried out the Yamaha S90ES and liked the sounds but found it to be just a bit too much for regular gigs. I also tried the Yamaha S08, this was nice as well. I am just wondering if anyone can suggest some others I should try before deciding.....thanks

A bit too much how? The Yamaha S90ES/Motif ES is a good workhorse for the kind of gigs you do. You can always cop a Motif 7 (Classic or ES) that will give you enough keys to get your piano on and a good feel for your synth work.

Otherwise, look at the Roland Juno-G as an option.

Yamaha (Motif XS7, Motif 6, TX81Z), Korg (R3, Triton-R), Roland (XP-30, D-50, Juno 6, P-330). Novation A Station, Arturia Analog Experience Factory 32