Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help a beginner keyboard player please

lukeswits

hi im just starting out and i have no clue where to start. i dont wanna get that into keyboard where ill be composing really complicated pieces. i wanna learn keyboard so i can play more simple riffs on the synthesizer to perform dance, electronica music. so what things should i start out on? chords? scales? can anyone please give me a list of things i should learn or any good free resources? thanks!

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
No matter what style of music you want to play the best place to begin is with basic theory, inclusive of scales, chords and techniques. It's highly recommended that you start off with a teacher, as they can show you the right fundamentals, and allow you to learn the theory more quickly.

Oh c'mon, he's not asking to learn jazz or classics or even pop.

Just find out where the arpeggiator button is on your synth and you're good to go.

Gig keys: Hammond SKpro, Korg Vox Continental, Crumar Mojo 61, Crumar Mojo Pedals

Just find out where the arpeggiator button is on your synth and you're good to go.

:thu:

right, no sense to spend on teacher and sh*t unless your commitment is serious. Besides dance, electronica will be played for you by the keyboard, just mess around with buttons a little and you disco. If you want to do more though, try to play along with songs you like with one hand to practice your ears, because if no ears no sense to bother any farther.

♫♫♫ motif XS6, RD700GX

Seriously, most of us would suggest taking piano lessons and learning how read music and the basics of music theory. You will evolve into a much better player than if you just poke around using trial and error (which is mostly error).