Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tips on learning tunes?

Kayvon

I'm not great at learning new tunes. I've been playing covers/standards for about two years since starting a uni course and we often get put together in temporary bands to cover pop material and occasionally jazz/blues standards. I put a reasonable amount of time in (as always could put more in though) playing at home along to the track but I often feel like my practice isn't methodical enough. Consequently when it comes to performing I often tend to get stuck to limited ideas when in practice I may have explored a number of interesting improvisation possibilities. Also my ability to retain small details about song structures often catches me out.

So I was wondering if people had any general tips about the process they take as they learn a new song. Do you have a different approach to pop songs that aren't going to feature alot of improvisation vs a jazz/blues standard? D'you learn parts you're not actually going to play eg random vocal lines or backing parts etc

I'm interested to hear any little things you do that you think helps you to effectively and quickly learn a new song before you start playing it with a band.

Thanks for any replies.

Peter.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a sideman, so when I begin working with a new artist or band there are usually around 30 tunes to learn - most of them originals. Last summer I was charting and working on almost 90.

What works best for me is I convert or compile mp3s of all the songs, and put them all into a playlist folder in iTunes to keep them organized, then go through them all and chart them - kind of a hybrid between a Nashville number chart and chord symbols I've devised.

It's great if the artist has a pre-determined set list - I'll put the songs in order which also helps with recall on-stage.