Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Love that funky clavinet!

brianb

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the forum. I dusted off & listened to the old Jeff Beck "Wired" album yesterday and had forgotten about the great Max Middleton clavinet job on the song "Play With Me". Wondering if anyone out there might have some general tips on playing a funky clav. I once heard that some licks / riffs can be approached rythmicaly (left & right hand) as to a flamadiddle drum rudiment. Any tips or some of your favorite clav tunes would be much appreciated!

Brian B

Roland Fantom X8 / Korg M1

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Max Middleton....that's a blast from the past. I haven't heard that name in probably 30 yrs. or more.

There was a tune by Jeff Beck in the 70's where he played a cool piano part. The melody was unison and hard....name that tune?????

Max Middleton....that's a blast from the past. I haven't heard that name in probably 30 yrs. or more.

There was a tune by Jeff Beck in the 70's where he played a cool piano part. The melody was unison and hard....name that tune?????

Possibly "Max's Tune" on the Jeff Beck Group's 1971 Rough and Ready recording?

Steve Force,

Durham, North Carolina

--------

My Professional Websites

Hi All,

I once heard that some licks / riffs can be approached rythmicaly (left & right hand) as to a flamadiddle drum rudiment. Any tips or some of your favorite clav tunes would be much appreciated!

Yes, this is good advice. Play some drum rhythms on a tabletop by rocking both hands between thumbs and digits. Now transfer that to a clavinet keyboard, playing some chordally related stuff in a sychopated manner. Be sure to play some of it staccato to leave plenty of holes in the part.

Now stick it thru a wah wah!

Moe

---

With the left hand, in addition to the 3rd and 5th and octaves, make sure to put lots of 7ths (dominant 7ths) in there. Funk out with those 7ths!