Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT..kind of........I was totally unprofessional.........

kerk

I recently saw on PBS a show with clips of an open air concert. I didn't catch where it was or if it was a benefit concert or what, but Bill Murray was the MC.

Anyway, Jeff Beck came on and did two songs. He was accompanied by a talented female bassist, who wasn't particularly attractive, but OK. When the camera would pan to her, I would try to catch her left hand finger work, but (this is where the unprofessionalism comes in), as much as I tried to check out her fingering, (she was wearing her bass high), I kept focusing on where her Fender J would perfectly cradle her right breast. She was sporting only a T-shirt.

As a bass student, I flunked this particular class. All I can tell you is that she didn't play below the 5th fret.......certainly that knowledge would not be enough to pass an after show exam.

Looking back to school, now I can see why I didn't do well in classes with attractive teachers.

Regardless, does anyone know who she is?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

:grin:

I don't like to watch the fingers, I like to listen and watch faces.

I do find myself watching bassplayers' fingers too much sometimes -what is the point really? I never really learned anything from watching a player's fingers.

Oh . . . she's Tal Wilkenfeld and we've been talking about her for months! And she's been in BP!

What you saw, I believe, was part of the Eric Clapton 2007 Crossroads Guitar Festival, which PBS was broadcasting as part of its fundraising campaign.

It would be well worth you time to get the video, and watch it and listen again -- Tal is a phenomenal young talent.

Disc 1 arrived at my house via Netflix yesterday.

"Tours widely in the southwestern tip of Kentucky"

Phil I've learned with Bona at that gig in london, not always but sometimes you can learn something

www.myspace.com/davidbassportugal