Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie question - vintage keyboards/songs

lukegilmour

Hello, im fairly new to the keyboards, im a guitar player that wants to broad his horizons.

i have two questions:

1- id like to know what kind of chords/scales/etc are used in songs like pink floyd - echoes (the funky part at about minute 7:00 in the album version), air - casanova 70 (the last part), and the classic green onions.

i think they all share that 70's vibe keyboards, wich i love (and actualy this kind of songs made me get close to the keys)

also, if you know any other songs or records with those kinda keys, id love to hear more of that stuff

2- related to the first, id like some excercises to get there, maybe practicing scales or such? (i have no idea how excercises are handled on the keys, im kinda translating from the guitar hehe)

thank you very much!!

ps: some help on getting tabs, partitures or anything like that for these songs would be appreciated too.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, welcome to the Board!

But, Pink Floyd heavily relies on Major and Minor scales I have noticed, and even Pentatonic Scales. Not sure on Casanova 70, but Green Onions is a Blues Scale, really.

Vintage Keys, well, The Doors used Vox and Gibson Organs. Chick Corea and Herbie Hancock relied heavily on the Rhodes. Ummm, B3, TOO much to name, Jimmy Smith is one. Pink Floyd, well, synths everywheres! And, finally, Keith Emerson, he uses everything I think. Plus, a good band is Supertramp if you like Wurlies, same with Yes with Synths.

P.S. if you like Rhodes, listen to Riders On The Storm by The Doors, one of the Quintessential Rhodes Songs.

Sincerely,

Zack.

Ahhh - he mentioned keyboard tabs. I'm out of here before someone busts out the ckicken feet, or the Keith Emmerson knife symbols!