Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

a few questions about air travel with gear

ewhirsh

Hello Keyboard forums, I haven't been on here much, but I'm glad to know there is such a kickass community of great musicians sharing their knowledge with each other..glad to be a part of the family!

I'm in a jazzy hip hop group whose MC is a Masters in Pan-African Studies student at Syracuse University, and he's got enough grant money to fly the rest of the band up from North Carolina to produce a show in December as part of his thesis.

I've never done air travel before, and I was wondering if y'all could share experience and advice on the safest/smoothest way for me to make this weekend trip a success:

My rig for this group is a 3-tier stand with a Yamaha S90ES, a Nord Electro 2 (for organ stuff), and an M-Audio Axiom 49. The Axiom 49 is a controller for a MacBookPro running Ableton Live with various loops and a lot of NI softsynths. All of the audio data and samples are on a rack-mounted Glyph GT050Q hard drive in a 4-space rack along with a MOTU 828mkII, a Midisport 8x8 USB midi interface and a Furman power conditioner.

Part of my problem is solved: there is a backline rental company in Syracuse that has a Yamaha Motif ES8 and a Korg CX3, which covers me comfortably for the first two keyboards. But I just can't do this show without my laptop and rack (i can mayyyybe go without a midi controller and just use laptop-key mappings instead).

So, question #1: The rack case i have right now is the thinner, cheaper SKB model, not a robust ATA rack. Do I get one of those and check the rack as baggage (man! that hard drive! ahh!)? Or do I leave the rack as is, and ship it via FedEx or UPS in a very well padded box?

Question #2: I'll feel safer/prepared if i can take my bag of tricks with me, audio cables, adapters, surge protectors, pedals, etc. Has anyone had problems getting that sort of stuff through airport security to take on the plane?