Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

First synth.

Ash1987

Hey guys im new to the whole synth/keys thing having started learning just over a month ago on a friends terrible Yamaha PSR200. Anyway time has come that im looking into gettin my own synth probably at the end of this month or so and i have been looking at a few different models. Im off to the stores tomorrow to go try some out for myself but would like some opinions on the following if you would:

Roland Juno-D £330,

Yamaha MM6 £375,

Korg X-50 £470,

Alesis Fusion 6D £570,

Roland Juno-G £695,

Korg Triton TR61 £695,

Yamaha MO6 £700.

That also gives a general idea of my budget but i wouldn't really like to go over the £500/600 limit if possible.

Im looking to eventually gig with this when my playing is better.

Im a really big Rush fan so style i will be doing is simlar to that but also more lead work with original songs.

Finally for my needs are the latter 4 above really worth the extra money or would the others suffice?

Thx in advance.

www.myspace.com/midnightofficial

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Well the Fusion has the most features and also the biggest list of problems. Personally I'd consider other options. If you could find a used Yamaha S90, that would be the way to go. You may also see if you can find a used or new Yamaha Motif ES that would be another great option. I think these two are better than any of the options your currently considering. Of the list you have I would recommend the Korg TR61 or the Juno G.

Begin the day with a friendly voice A companion, unobtrusive

- Rush

Of all those listed, the most substantial of the bunch is the Triton. The user base is wide and deep, the sounds solid and useable for most genres. Or the Juno-G since it gives you more flexibility in playability with physical controls not buried in menu's, and it has the Fantom sound engine.