Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

clonewheel recomendation

ferran rc

Hello,

I'm not introduced in the "Hammond world", and I've never played a B3 or any other original Hammond organ, so I have no experience in this matter.

I'm planning to buy a clonewheel to start playing organ sounds with my band (the organ sounds of my old Korg N364 don't sound bad, but nothing compared to these actual clonewheels...).

I'm between these 2 models: the Hammond XK-1 and the Nord Electro 2.

Here is very difficult to find a store that has both in stock to make a side by side comparison, so I will have to test them separately.

The price is not a factor, because I can find both at a similar prive here.

I've read many threads in many forums, and I think these are the 2 better options for what I need.

By one side, I like very much the demos of the Hammond XK-1 I've heard, and I've found very good opinions and reviews in the forums. I like the real drawbars, and I've read that the leslie sim is one of the most reallistic.

I think that the XK-1 has more tweakable parameters, and I've read the manual and I've found many configurable parameters, to adjust everything you want (leslie speed, acceleration, percussion, effects...), and maybe more MIDI control

By the other side, I've also read very good opinions about the electro. Maybe it has less configurable parameters than the XK-1, but all the electro owners are very happy with it.

I have the EP's covered, so I wouldn't need the other sounds of the electro, but they really sound amazing...

Which one would you recommend me?

Has anyone made a comparison of these two clones?

To start I will use the internal leslie sim, connected to my Roland KC-500 amp. Maybe in the future I could upgrade the system with a real rotary speaker, like the PRO-3X.

I know that I have to test both and choose the one that I like more, but I wanted to know your opinions and recommendations.