Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Self taught and trying to organise practice

MyOwnWay

I last took keyboard lessons six years ago, and after a few years' break I've tried picking it up again - self taught this time - but I'm having trouble getting myself organised into doing regular practice. I think the main reason (other than general laziness ;) ) is that I'm not sure what to do! Does anyone have any tips for practising? How much time should I be trying to spend playing per week?

(I'd try and find a teacher, but I'm going away to university in a month so I'm not sure there'd be much point.)

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

One important thing, practice even if you don't feel like it - make the time and make everything else second in your life.

I personally aim for 15 hours a week as measured by a stopwatch. You'd be surprised how much time is wasted when you think you're practicing.

I spend 50 minutes every day doing various warm ups. I try and vary that daily. The rest of the time is whatever I want to work on. Ask any other piano player and you'll get a different answer.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

At least a couple of hours a day if you want to get somewhere. Any less and you will likely stagnate.

It sounds like motivation is a bit of a problem so don't spend the whole time doing exersizes. Play some songs, even if you can't play them well. I find learning new songs all the time really keep the practice time fun.

DigitalFakeBook Free chord/lyric display software for windows.