Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bass Tech Help

Fishmusician

Ok, I have been playing this instrument for almost 3 years now and I know I can play the instrument however I haven't a clue what to do when it comes to repairing it, replacing strings, etc. So can anyone give me some advice on these things? Also, I really need to reapair my bass soon. It keeps making a distorted buzzing sound when I play it. (I really, really need help on ths the most).

Also, how do I know when I have to replace my strings and anyone have a suggestion for what kind of strings I should use?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Fish, you have opened up a very large can of worms. You can use the search function on the top of this page and find all the information you need on strings and their attributes.

I am sorry I cannot be of more help, I am at work, so posting is to be kept at a minimum :)

Anthony

Replacing strings? I do it whenever one breaks, or a aweek before a really really big gig, whichever comes first.

Lately, it's been when they break :(

Peace

Paul K

Things are just the way they are, and they're only going to get worse.

As for when to replace strings? It depends on how often you play, I guess.

There really are too many things to consider when it's time to change strings, and hell, even WHAT strings to buy. It's all a matter of preference. Cost? How many instruments? I have a total of 10 instruments, so when I change strings, it's usually an all day chore as I'll change them all (or most) at the same time. Perhaps that's why I can tolerate older strings on my instruments longer than some... it gets expensive quick!

A few suggestions though:

1) What players do you admire for their tone? Look them up and see what strings they use. That might be a good place to start if you want a similar tone.