Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

If the guitarist says "its only on 3" one more time!

JonathanD

I am a bassist and post at the lowdown most of the time.

Today I had a question for you about tube amps.

Short version: Do tube amps reach near max volume (in general or sometimes even. I know some manufacturers are probably different) at an early point in the knobs turn from 0-10 leaving the last half of the knob as just saturation for the tubes?

Also, why are tube amps louder than solid state at the same wattage? They seem that way at least.

One of the guitarists I play with boasts that his 50 watt Marshall is only on 3 and still very loud. I suggested that the pot attenuation could just have little change after the early numbers. He turned it up much farther and there wasnt that big a difference after 5-6. After 5-6 it did get warmer tone though which leads me to believe it is saturation. For my bass amp the last 1/4 of the knob is where all the volume is. So knob placement seems irrelevant due to gain stages and pot attenuation differences.

Thanks, Jonathan

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So, you are discovering the *big* difference between guitar amplification where most people desire tube saturation/overdrive, and Bass amplification where, generally (but not always) the idea is to have huge amounts of power and play cut back so as to have a large degree of clean headroom for the bass.

It is low-frequency square-wave distortion which cooks bass speaker voice-coils - over on the Lowdown, you'll have seen several of the guys play 1000W amps through 600W speakers and they come to no harm providing you are careful not to induce over-excursion due to excess bass roll-on.

This is different from the higher frequencies used with guitars, where over-excursion due to 'peaking' tends to be the main destroyer of cones.