Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How do I buy tubes?

Omaha

This is probably a very simple question, but I'm a newbie at the whole electric thing, so forgive me.

How do I buy tubes?

I "went electric" a few months ago. Part of my rig is a Peavey Classic 50 410 which I am really loving. But I always read things like "you should never go to a gig without spare tubes". So, I've been pushing my luck for a few months now, but maybe that should change.

If I understand it right, my Peavey has 3 12AX7s in the pre-amp and four EL84 power tubes (don't think that I actually know what that means...I just read the specs).

SO...what's a guy to do? Do I buy a complete new set of premium after-market tubes just because that's the thing to do? Do I get one of each as spares? If I do that, and one blows at a gig, how will I know which one went? Is it really practical to swap out a tube during a show? Last, what is biasing, and do my tubes need to be matched in a way that I need to be aware of?

TIA.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

www.dougstubes.com

I buy my tubes from him and he's great. Good prices too. He'll work with you to find a set that works well with your amp.

Otherwise, you can get Groove Tubes at most Guitar Center-style places. They're good.

"You never can vouch for your own consciousness." - Norman Mailer

Bob at Eurotubes IS the man and JJ's tubes they sell sound great!!

The tubes are fantastic quality, they have a great selection, and Bob is very nice on the phone.

He'll sit there and talk to you for a while. He just that kind of guy. :)

Go online to http://www.eurotubes.com and the website is very intuitive.

They separate them by AMPLIFIER brand & model, then they give you a selection of tubes and each one is explained as to what kind of sound it has.

For example:

I bought a full set of tubes from them for my Carvin Nomad 1/12.