Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Writing lyrics/ starting a song?

JonathanD

Hello all,

I am a sax player turned bassist. I am looking into the process of writing. I always seem to get stuck. I can write a bass part or a sax part no problem. Even writing them together is fine. Using some organ in there isnt a stretch and I have a fair understanding of theory. its the concept that always blocks me. I may get an idea in my head but as soon as I sit down the words or song structure disappear. Does anyone ahve any suggestions on getting their ideas going for lyrics?

I also keep paper with me at work and write down whats in my head on that. but when I try and put it down it just seems like anus.

Not looking for advice per se, but instead hopeing to start a discussion.

Jonathan

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Jonathon!

I agree with you 100%. For me it is much easier to arrange music than to write a song from scratch. I think that has to do with how I've approached music in the past. I'm far more comfortable composing music than writing lyrics. If only instrumental music were popular, eh? ;)

For others it may be that lyrics come easily but music does not.

Although there are some online songwriting resources, I've found them to be a little wanting.

I spent some time at my local library and walked away with a stack of books on songwriting. I went to the bookstore, too, to check out more recent titles. I think I ended up with "Songwriting for Dummies", which is just a more recent edition of another songwriting book by the same author. There are plenty of books to choose from. If you work well with books, you may want to look around to see what catches your eye.