Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice Requested: Church Worship Team

Warthog

Hi, Guys (and Gals),

I have an issue. I have been playing on my church's worship team for about 4 months now. I was asked to play when a previous guy left. Here's the problem:

There are usually 2 acoustic guitars, a bass, and an electric. One acoustic is me and the other is a high school kid who's a good player. The problem is that the son (10 years old) of one of the singers (a guy) is learning to play guitar. He plays a little 3/4 Harmony acoustic that sounds awful even when it's in tune. At first I thought it was cute when he'd show up to practice and I thought it was cool when he played on our "All Church Family Worship" days, when even the kids are in the service and the music is kid-oriented (really easy, basic, kids songs). But now, the kid plays every Sunday and his Dad doesn't seem to notice that he sounds really bad and is taking away from the nice sound me and the other guy have. He's also a really bossy little kid and plays loudly while the worship leader is insructing. I've stopped him many times becasue I couldn't hear the instruction coming from the leader. Anthow, my solution has been to stop playing, not because I'm mad, but because there are already 2 guitars and a bass in addition to the youngster. I'm not so miffed with the boy as with his dad as I feel it's inappropriate to inject him into the mix and not supervise/direct his son. If it was a real band I'd speak my mind, but in a church setting it's about worship and not my feelings. Am I handling this wrongly by just sitting out and not saying anything as to why? The only time I play now is when I'm specifically asked to. At those times my only solution has been to turn up my own volume to drown-out the racket (the boy is not plugged-in, but plenty annoyingly loud).

Thanks for the help.

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply