Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

"Perfect Pitch" and "Relative Pitch" course?

findingflow

I'm a guitar beginner, three months into weekly lessons on classical and jazz guitar. Love it! Saw an ad for the _Perfect Pitch_ course in a guitar magazine - was wondering whether the course delivers the goods, and more to the point, whether I need a perfect pitch to develop as a guitar player. Or would I be better off spending that time practicing scales?

Appreciate any feedback on the _Perfect Pitch_ and _Relative Pitch_ courses.

Thanks.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

While I don't recommend the Perfect Pitch course, I do recommend ear training. You can find some free ear training software on the net, but here is some good stuff that's not cheap but a darn site cheaper than Perfect Pitch and simply gets right into ear training, no bs or sales pitches: Ear Master .

You start out simply identifying which interval is larger, then move on to harmonics, and then on to naming the intervals. Once you master that, and it can take a lot of time, you move on to chord and scale identification. A nice neat program in one package. My feelings are that if you master this program, you will be able to learn the songs you want by ear.

bbach

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.

Over on the KC, it was mentioned that some believe absolute ("perfect") pitch is only "learnable" at a young age. At least from what I read, it seems to be more of an innate ability; something you're born with. People with absolute pitch can recognize pitches before learning the labels associated with them: middle C, A440, some "weird" frequency just under 440 Hz like 439.99876 Hz, etc. (They can identify all pitches, not just the 12 chromatic pitches.)