Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Jazz Guitar Help

souvenir

Hey guys, I really hope that someone can help me out here please.

I have been playing guitar for about 9 years now and just recently I have tried to get into some jazz playing. I got the Hal Leonard signature jazz licks book which has transcriptions of excerpts from other jazz tunes. I can play some of the slower stuff but the really fast stuff I have a few problems with as I've never really been a fast player. My normal playing style would be rock / blues.

I discovered some jazz lessons on the Fareed Haque site:

http://www.fareed.com/lessons.html

These were good but I just can't get my own jazz licks to sound interesting. I'd actually like to add some jazz licks into my playing in a rock context, perhaps like Steve Lukather.

Can some of you guys please give me tips for someone who knows some music theory a guide on how I can come up with jazz licks of my own?

Thanks!

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The main thing first of all is listening to the greats

It is advisable to get as many different versions of the same tune as possible

Transcribing or copping the solos on the tunes you are learning is another biggie

This is absolutely indisposable for the ear training which is necessary to eventually make up your own licks

On a more technically specific route:

Get Charlie Parker's Omnibook in concert key

Download on a legal download site the exact cuts the omnibook has.

Data mine the short IImi-V7 riffs. What i mean is those II-V's whicch are only 2 beats per chord

Find all possible fingerings for just one lick in all possible octave ranges , in all possible positions of the fretboard.

Cycle the lick in all 12 keys

Next, data mine out the long II-V's. those are the 4 beat per chord ones

For speed, fluidity, and a wayy to make up your own licks,

Get Pat Martino's Linear Expressions book

Shoot for playing the whole book at 240 bpms