Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Amp recommendations

johnxi

Hi all

I have been using a Line 6 FlextoneII combo for about 5 years and have recently bought a POD XT Live to upgrade. It sounds fantastic plugged into headphones or my computer for recording, but I need an amp to take it for live gigs. Anyone got any suggestions? My budget is in the £1000 range, but I'd like to get something for less. I've heard some people say I should get a PA amp and a 4x12 cab, any thoughts?

Thanks in advance

John

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Yes, it's the 2x12 flextoneII - nice amp, just thought it was time for an upgrade. As far as plugging into that, I'm doing it at the moment. It seems a bit of a waste of the technology though and I suspect a good quality one channel amp would probably do a better job for me. One of the options I've thought of is plugging straight in and using a powered monitor for stage sound. The main problem with that is that the band I'm playing with is touring small venues and we still occasionally show up places where I have to play just off my amp.

Ok John.. I see you are it LEEDS (as in the WHO.live at LEEDS!!) .. ok but you still can go through a channel on the PA can't you? and are you guys doing stage monitoring of instrument mix as well as vocal mix? if instrument mix you will just hear the XT comming back through the monitor, or am I getting the wrong idea of your set up there?