Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

body work

TCSpider

i've recently been given an old, horribly abused guitar. being a carpenter by trade and guitarist & bassist in my free time my heart cryed out to this abuse case. it needs quite a lot of work. my first order of business was to remove the old paint to see if the wood is still in good shape. thankfully, it is. now i have a completely cleaned and sanded body. this being the first guitar i've ever had to repaint i need to know if i should put a sealing coat on the body first or just double coat the wood to compensate for any paint absorbed by the wood.
i am the anti, the tugging feeling in the back of your head that makes you second guess yourself. i am the devil inside of you begging to escape.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply
i want to put a cherry red base layer of paint then using a tinted gloss create a spider web pattern and finishing it off with a clear coat or two.
i am the anti, the tugging feeling in the back of your head that makes you second guess yourself. i am the devil inside of you begging to escape.

Sound great. Be sure to post some pics once you get it finished.

There is probably a rule about amount of paint, clear coats etc. in regards to the tone of the wood. Once again, your best bet is to hang out until one of the, more knowledgeable folks in the area, comes back.

there's really not much i can do until i get the parts i need. here's the list of things that i need/want to replace. all six tuning machines, the bridge, the nut, the volume and tone nobs, and strings. i want to add a pick-up selector and maybe a new pick up. all together, a minimum of $140 worth of new parts.