Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Calavera is thinking!!!

Calavera

Greetings folks, this is a philosophical question:

-My guitar has the Buzz Feiten system so i need to buy a tuner, Korg dt-7 ($90)was the first choice then finds out the Peterson family ($200+). while i was trying to decide this question comes to me:

Why am i going to buy expensive equipment if i'm just learning and i don't know what i'll be doing in the future? (with my guitar, of course).

It will be nice to go to college and become a profesional guitarist(just for the sake of really know how to play), but then again;

should i ever be making a living out of this?

Don't get me wrong, i love guitar and i'd love to have the best gear out there, but i'm poor, have 2 kids and just found out that my first one (boy 3 yrs old) is autistic (one more reason to play guitar, autistic kids develop a special attachment to music) so i'm thinking that i should expent all that money in my family and just buy cheap stuff, cause anyway(at least at the beginning) i'll be playing in my bedroom.

Conclusion:

i have seen so many guitar players working at music stores(not making too much ,i guess...) that i'm wondering:

-should i buy good gear?

-is there any hope of making a living playing guitar?,(not thinking about being rich and famous) just make a decent living enjoying something that i love

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply