Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need some advice choosing a tube combo amp.

zeronyne

I'll spare you folks the details, but I'd really like to get a decent tube combo amplifier, and I'd like some suggestions.

I usually hate threads like this because they are so open-ended. So let me be as specific as possible in terms of what I'm looking for.

1) I'm not a very proficient guitar player. I'm mainly a keyboard player, and I use guitar (and other instruments) as needed when I record. If the part calls for something complex, subtle, or shred, I usually book a guitarist to play the part, but I can usually manage to play the parts I write. I've had great success getting the sound that's right for the songs I create with a Pod XT and NI Guitar Rig, but I'm looking for something different now...

2) I'm looking for a really nice amp so I can just play without booting up my computer or even turning on my mixer and monitors. Something conducive to my future addiction to analog stompboxes. That's right, I don't have any yet...this is sort of preemptive GAS. So an effects loop would be nice...maybe two (pre and post).

3) Volume...hmmm...I know that wattage in a tube amp can be very deceiving, so I'll specify the application instead. It has to keep up with a drummer occasionally, but 99% of the time, it will be a practice amp. I hear, though, that even a Zvex into a small cab is pretty loud.

4) Type of sound: Hmm, again, since I'm a beginner-level guitar player, it's hard to describe what I want with words like warmth or bite. I'm thinking more metal than blues. More Zakk than SRV, but versatility would be nice.

Around $500.00 would be nice, but I really positively want to cap it at $1000.00. I realize that a boutique amp is simply out of the question, but I love to support smaller companies whenever possible.

Any suggestions? Thanks very much in advance.

Oh, I'll be using a Parker Fly Deluxe and a Charvel with an SD Invader.