Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Why do people play leftie?

Kramer Ferrington III.

Not knocking anybody, just curious.

See, when I started playing, I toyed with the idea of playing leftie. I'm actually right-handed, so it made sense to me to use my stronger and more dexterous hand as my fretting hand.

I didn't go through with it simply because I figured that, if most players fretted with their left hands, there had to be some sense to it.

But playing guitar is such a physically unnatural thing to do that whether you're right or left handed is probably pretty irrelevant at the beginning. We all start off at a similar level of clumsiness, one could go either way. Left or right.

What do you guys think? And why did some of you decide to play leftie?

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Never made any sense to me... I mean, I'm a lefty that was beaten by the nuns for using the 'devil's hand' (though I'm not Catholic, my parents wanted me to go to the better schools... didn't last long.) So I was forced to do things like write with my right hand. I still eat lefty in the European tradition, and I am liable to do anything with either hand because it just doesn't matter much to me.

So when I started to play guitar, I just picked up what guitar was handy, and started to learn.

Likewise, I play drums right-handed (though pretty baddly these days).

A good friend of mine is a lefty, and what a pain for him... it's really not very practical.

Meanwhile, left handed people learn to drive cars, play brass and woodwind instruments, play piano and other keyboards, without ever thinking about it.

So why do left handed guitars even exist? I don't know. It seems to me that the fretting hand would be the one that should be the dominant hand, because that is where all the deterity is required. To me, this puts the left handed player at an advantage on a right handed instrument.

Bill